City Council

The City of Nauvoo is governed by a mayor and a City Council.  The mayor and aldermen are elected by the citizens of Nauvoo and serve a 4 year term. Elections are held every two years in April of the odd numbered years. There are three wards in the city with two aldermen from each ward.  The Mayor leads the City Council meetings and serves as an ambassador for the City. .

The Nauvoo City Council meets the second Tuesday of each month at 7:30 p.m. in the City Council Chambers at City Hall, 60 N. Bluff St. With the exception of executive session meetings, council meetings are open to the public.

Each Alderman is assigned to a Standing Committee. The Mayor appoints citizens to several committees with the approval of the City Council. Click here for more information.

(Left standing) Dave Koechle, Clive Moon, Bev Reynolds, Jim Boyles
(Left sitting) Brenda Adkisson, Mayor John McCarty, Lee Ourth